JVC PICSIO GC-FM1A HD Camcorder (Brilliant Blue)

JVC PICSIO GC-FM1A HD Camcorder (Brilliant Blue)

GC-FM1 is the pocket-sized HD memory camera so that you can put it in your pocket and get going. Without any confusing or hustle, you can shoot HD video and show them beautifully with HDMI connection…

Reviews from Customers

“For reviewer above”
I dont own one of these but I would say most of these types of flips or vado or rca pocket vid cams do not do well in inside or “Indoor” light setting. Try you cam outside first before returning it.. From what you see in the room with your own eyes may “Seem” like good light but cameras do not pick up on ambient light like the human eye does. It needs far more light. So give your cam a try outside before returning it.. And others be sure to keep this in mind. I own the Creative Vado and the flip and both cams do not do well in a dark room or “Indoor” light bulb lighted room. Unless you are shooting this indoors in a “BRIGHT” “Fluorescent” shopping store type of room it will look graining no matter what cam you use.

I use the Vado and find the price to be a great price for a pocket vid cam.. Its also got the new built in software that works for “BOTH” Mac and PC’s just go to Creative site and download the new Mac Software. The Vado HD is fantastic for the 124.00 dollar price. The thing will record up to 8 hours of video. Has the software built into the camera but the biggest factor why I like the Vado its a “WIDE” angle Lens! Supper important when filming vacation stuff or parties or events as most other vid cameras the lens is too “Zoomed” in or narrow of viewing field. WHich makes for “VERY” shaky filming. The vado’s wide lens makes it great for group shots and scenics shots. It smoothes out the video shake. Its sort of like if you try shooting a video through a pair of Binoculars it will be all shaky. With a wide lens it eliminates that. I mean for 124 dollars and it films up to 8 hours of footage and is wide angle its the best bang for you buck. I admit the Flip Video HD mino is slick but its […] bucks more money. For something you put in your pocket or give to the kids the vado is a easier on the wallet. Use the vado for the next 2 years by then their will be better res cameras with better mics on them and light sensitivity. Thats my opinion. In the meant time take advantage of the 124.00 price tag on a Vado HD. If you can check out the video footage of some guy on Face book that he taped of the “Tour De France” its amazing the quality. Look for that footage on Facebook. Its a asian family that takes the footage with the Vado HD at the Tour De France “Who would have known”

“Awesome pocket cam”

I love this camera despite what I have read about in my researching for a pocket cam. This model comes in three colors; Black, Blue & Purple. It has 1080p HD video, DIS for the video, internal 128MB memory, SDHC card slot, Rechargeable Li-on battery & 8 MP stills which is great of not having to carry two different cameras for great video and great stills. I use it every where I go & it is perfect for me to get my kids in their football games. Being able to take it right out of my purse and get recording right away is a snap. Having 128MB of internal memory & a card slot to expand the memory is great so when the games go into OT I have enough space to continue thru. I would recommend a 4GB memory card or higher for lots of storage space. I am not a techy person and the simplicity of camera is perfect for me of not having to figure out all those menus. All you have to do is push the buttons and the camera will do what it is to do. You have a power button, video/camera mode, a review, trash can, index & the center button is for record mode/snap a picture. You even get a 4x digital zoom by pushing the up & down buttons for when you need to get a little bit closer. I just love taking my videos & sharing them online to You Tube so my mother back east can see the boys in their games right away. Even when they have night games you can still see the video very clear & steady just like in a traditional camcorder. I used to make DVD’s which takes me forever to figure out the software & takes time mailing it over. If it will even reach over the mail in one piece. I can’t begin to tell you how many times the DVD disc was broken on delivery to then make it all over again. Now the moment is lost and forgotten. But now just plug in the camera to the pc & the software loads instantly so I am able to share online to You Tube in an instant. Now my mom gets to see it right then and there. She is very happy & feels like she has not missed anything at all. My older boy loves the fact it will share right to his iTunes library. He puts his videos of the game right on his iPod where he can share it with his friends. How cool is that. I have taken quite a bit of stills and wow how great the quality is & you can print very large too. I did a poster print and looks very clear & sharp. The playback is awesome as you even get a HDMI port, which is very important to me as to match my new HDTV. You can see how clear and how sharp all the colors are. It’s not grainy at all & even in lower light. I was able to take a video of an underground parking garage with low light & to my surprise it is very clear & you can see everything just like you where there. I am so amazed of how steady the playback is. I give this product a two thumbs up. Try the model yourself you will be amazed of how great this little cam is.

“Nice Specs on Paper, Worthless in the Real World”
After reading the specs I had high hopes for this camera. Unfortunately, it failed to perform in every way. The build quality was cheap and flimsy, the controls were awkward and counterintuitive, the video was unwatchable, and the stills weren’t sharp. Thankfully, Amazon accepted my return.

First, the PROS:

–It is small.

Then, the CONS:

–The control buttons are recessed and difficult to press. Usually I would have to press a button several times before it actually worked. When in still camera mode there is no audio or visual confirmation that you have actually taken a photo so you never know for sure until you scan through the images and video saved.

–The video is violently shakey and not as sharp as 1080p should be. Even on a tripod the video shook and wobbled. Basically the video is unwatchable. Everything looks like “Blair Witch Project” outtakes.

–Video and stills are grainy in any light, indoors or out. Don’t bother trying to use it in low light.

–The audio is average.

In short, a very disappointing product that has turned me off to the compact video camera segment.

See all detials of JVC PICSIO GC-FM1A HD Camcorder (Brilliant Blue)

Leave a comment